Top cop blames justice system for Chicago violence

Top cop blames justice system for https://instagram.com/p/4wo2Y-uPLo/ violence
http://www.cnn.com//2015/07/05/us/chicago-violent-weekend/index.html
There is nothing that saddens me more than stories like this. I was talking to a friend that was just getting ready. to get out of the joint.. He has two children.

I had a long talk with him another changing for the sake of his kids,, especially I his son who no matter how he tried to hide what he was doing, his son would see it.

He yelled at me that day and told me there was no way out for someone like him.

There was a lot more to the conversation but it was a day that he cried…. I cried…. And I realized for the rest of my life I’d be checking headlines….. And maybe one day attending a funeral either for my friend or one just like the one in this article. And its crap….and its crap. All people are people and yes there will be crime.. Without it, we don’t know what is good.. But prison is ones punishment.. After which it is our job as a society to allow people to make a life for themselves that doesn’t involve crime. We complain about the rate of recidivisn, but we create it. And innocent children due because we as a society need to be snobs.

I’ll never forget the fear in my friends voice at the thought of his kids gang banging. And for now he has control…… But there is only so long he can reasonably say no to behavior he engages in. He wants his kids to live in a better world.. Can we make it better for them?

Leave a Reply

